Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Glass rod deformation by an external force

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear all,

I am pretty new in doing material deformation problem. Here, I would like to model the deformation of a heated glass rod with some softened parts under external force. The schematic drawing is as the attached picture. Does anyone have the idea how to perform this kind of modeling? Any input will be very thankful.

David

4 Replies Last Post 2011/03/22 12:09 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 2010/12/29 4:02 GMT-5
Hi

my first guess would be to use ST (structural), + ALE (moving mesh) with HT (heat transfer). It depends somewhat on the data and material properties known for youre meltenglass.

To build the model I would start one physics at the time in that order

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi my first guess would be to use ST (structural), + ALE (moving mesh) with HT (heat transfer). It depends somewhat on the data and material properties known for youre meltenglass. To build the model I would start one physics at the time in that order -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago 2010/12/29 5:10 GMT-5

Hi

my first guess would be to use ST (structural), + ALE (moving mesh) with HT (heat transfer). It depends somewhat on the data and material properties known for youre meltenglass.

To build the model I would start one physics at the time in that order

--
Good luck
Ivar

Dear Ivar,