Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Moving concentration boundary layer

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am studying the movement of a concentration boundary layer from the middle of a microfluidic channel towards the wall. My channel is a 2D rectangle, height 2mm, width 1cm. Concentration values go from 0 to 100. I did a time step Nav-Stokes simulation. Coupled that with an advection-diff simulation and got the results I needed. I was able to see the concentration move into the channel, then towards the wall. The result showed the boundary layer as it moves through the x and y directions. However, I need to know where in y (for a line going through x=1cm) is the concentration=50 as a function of time. I did a line plot at location x=1cm that gives me the values of concentration (from 0 to 100), attached as Line plot, 2D. I also did an extrusion plot that shows the concentration as a function of channel width and time, attached as Line extrusion plot, 3D. Is there a way for me to make a line plot that only plots for a certain range of results? Or is there a way for me to obtain data from the Line extrusion plot at concentration=50 (i.e. make plane on the X-Y axis that cuts through Z=50 and allow me to obtain those numbers )? I also exported the data as ASCII files, imported them into Matlab and plotted them. However, the plots were not nearly the same so they were useless.

2 Replies Last Post 2011/02/02 9:16 GMT-5

Posted: 1 decade ago 2011/02/02 8:39 GMT-5