Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Best strategy to implement an induced stress (thermal/chemical/...)

Jean-Christophe Lavocat

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear all,

Here is a problem I am faced with : I am studying a smart material that, when stimulated by external stimulus, will change shape. So the induced strain is given by an internal stress :
sigma(x) = E*(eps-eps_ind(x))
where E is the Young modulus / eps is the strain coming from a mechanical deformation / eps_ind is the strain induced in the material

The eps_ind(x) could represent different things, depending on the physics studied.

My question is the following : what could be the best strategy to implement it under the Solid Mechanics module under Comsol4.x ?

2 Replies Last Post 2011/03/01 4:43 GMT-5
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 2011/03/01 4:38 GMT-5
Hi

I'm not sure for how to implement that one, but one thing: be aware that "eps" is an internally defined variable COMSOL name, so you should at least call it something else

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi I'm not sure for how to implement that one, but one thing: be aware that "eps" is an internally defined variable COMSOL name, so you should at least call it something else -- Good luck Ivar

Jean-Christophe Lavocat

Posted: 1 decade ago 2011/03/01 4:43 GMT-5
Yes, sure, it was only for writing here on the forum.
Yes, sure, it was only for writing here on the forum.