Creating a shaped membrane for a resonator eigenfrequency study

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone, I am running into an error when defining a more complex shape for my membrane.

The goal is to emulate a graphene resonator and analyze how the shape of the membrane influences the quality factor using an eigenfrequency analysis.

Whenever I try to add more than one primitve to my geometry to make "holes" in the membrane I run into this error:

2024-02-28T20:38:12.504-0500 ERROR com.comsol.model.data.SelectionOutOfBoundsException: Illegal_input_vector_illegal_entity_number [com.comsol.widgets] com.comsol.util.exceptions.BridgeRuntimeException: com.comsol.model.data.SelectionOutOfBoundsException: Illegal_input_vector_illegal_entity_number

I am still fairly new to using COMSOL and suspect I am defining something incorrectly. The COMSOL file has a Membrane, Solid Mechanics and Multiphysics Solid-Thin Structure Connection Interface.

The error can easily be reproduced by enabling another primitve under "Plane Geometry" and running the "initial stress/strain" Eigenfrequency study.

I've attached one screenshot showing the deformation of the membrane with one primitive circle cut out. The second screenshot shows the error I get when I add another one.

If someone also has some suggestions on how to implement a topology optimization for the membrane to achieve a high Q to this I'd be very grateful.

Thank you for any help on this.

Regards, Benedikt

3 Replies Last Post 2024/02/29 16:46 GMT-5
Acculution ApS Certified Consultant

Posted: 2 months ago 2024/02/29 2:33 GMT-5

I could not see any issues. Attached is a picture where the interpolation curves have been added (the import does not work without the dxf file).

-------------------
René Christensen, PhD
Acculution ApS
www.acculution.com
info@acculution.com