Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Force between a parallel plate capacitor

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am very new to comsol. that being said, I have managed to model my problem in 3D, mesh it and view the results.

I am attempting to measure the electrostatic force between an AFM tip and a grounded sample. Before I do this I want to verify that my method corresponds with the theoretical result. To this end, I have modelled a parallel plate capacitor (a flat box with appropriate boundary conditions). The box is 1e-3 x 1e-3 x 1e-6 [m] with the top surface set to 1 [v] and the bottom surface grounded.

I would like to calculate the force one plate exerts on an other. Theoretically, the result should be:

F=V^2*permittivity*Area / ( 2*separation^2)

How would one set up post processing to obtain this solution?

I was thinking that the total charge on a place could be found by a surface integral of D.ds, but this would give you a Force field - not a total Force.

Thanks, all help would be much appreciated,
E

2 Replies Last Post 2010/05/07 1:17 GMT-4

Posted: 1 decade ago 2010/04/26 5:04 GMT-4
Hi Anema,

Welcome to comsol community.

If I understand you right from your discription. I would suggest you to follow the 'cantilever beam' tutorial in MEMS model. In this tutorial they explain you to find the pull-in voltage using moving mesh method. But for your purpose you can use the same model, and see the deflection of cantliver for different applied voltages. Also, i would suggest to follow 2D model, as its faster and requires less computer resources.

Best of luck,

Dhwajal