Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Modelling fluid flow plus membrane deflection

Pablo Garcia De Madinabeitia

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,

I am new to comsol community and I am facing a simulation of a membrane/wall deflection over a microfluidic channel. At this moment, I have a microfluidic channel which is formed by a domain filled with fluid (no wall thickness, just the path the fluid follows). At some point of the channel (rectangular cross section), I have a 200 micron layer which I would like to deflect upon mechanical load.

I have always simulated microfluidic chips being the chip as the domain where the fluid flows, not considering any wall thickness. It is now, that I want to simulate mechanical actuation over a 200micron thickness wall that I wonder how I should set the walls (thickness yes or no?). In addition to this, is it possible to do it with the basic functionalities of COMSOL multiphysics 5.4? Or should I get the specific structural mechanics or MEMS module?

Thanks in advance, Pablo

4 Replies Last Post 2019/09/01 13:53 GMT-4
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 5 years ago 2019/07/12 8:52 GMT-4
Updated: 5 years ago 2019/07/12 8:45 GMT-4

Hello Pablo,