Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

3D => RF model => Electromagnetics waves how do I express the "surface charge density "?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear all
I'm a beginner at COMSOL 3.5a

IN 3D => RF model => Electromagnetics waves

how do I express "surface charge density "?

I know the expression of the surface charge density magnitude is "normJs_rfw"?

THANH YOU ,

BEST REGARDS

DANNY

4 Replies Last Post 2010/09/17 20:23 GMT-4
Robert Koslover Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 decade ago 2010/09/15 16:37 GMT-4
Short answer: Well, for a *conducting* surface in empty space, the surface charge density can be expressed as the norm of the electric field divided by epsilon_0. I.e., surface charge density [coulombs/m^2] = normE_rfw/epsilon0_rfw. This follows simply from Gauss' law of electrostatics (which is valid in the RF case as well). (Remember: "Del dot E = rho / epsilon_not" ) (Just consider a thin pillbox around the surface and the integral form of Gauss' law.)