Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Terahertz antenna

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello every one,

I am intending to do a project using COMSOL. The main idea is to design an antenna operating at Terahertz frequencies.
Actually i am a beginner and have not touched COMSOL before.
My question is:
1/ How can COMSOL generate THz frequencies? is there any ready generator?

Thank you

4 Replies Last Post 2012/06/18 11:58 GMT-4

Posted: 1 decade ago 2011/06/20 4:26 GMT-4
Hi,

you would choose the RF application module and a frequency domain study. Your terahertz frequency is a study parameter. You can enter a single frequency or a range to perform a parameter study.

Cheers,
Edgar
Hi, you would choose the RF application module and a frequency domain study. Your terahertz frequency is a study parameter. You can enter a single frequency or a range to perform a parameter study. Cheers, Edgar

Posted: 1 decade ago 2011/07/03 15:49 GMT-4

Hi,

you would choose the RF application module and a frequency domain study. Your terahertz frequency is a study parameter. You can enter a single frequency or a range to perform a parameter study.

Cheers,
Edgar

Hi Edgar,

Thanks for reply. I was not sure actually as i am new to COMSOL.
I am interested in the 3D radiation pattern and the gain of my proposed antenna.
I want to strart learning COMSOL with designing a simple Dipole antenna and draw the patternt and calculate the gain.

What is the best way to generate the input signal. I know we can use Lumped port in the gap between the two antenna parts. Is this method effective for any antenna type and at any frequency range ? above 200GHz for example?

Cheers,
Khalid